Facts about DWI charges in Houston TX
Being charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is often the worst experience in one’s life. In Texas, DWI has been defined as someone operating a motor vehicle in a public place while intoxicated. The legislature has gone on to define intoxication in three different ways:
- Not having the normal use of your physical faculties,
- Not having the normal use of your mental faculties, or
- Having a blood or breath alcohol concentration of .08 or more.
With almost every DWI arrest, the government is going to try and convict you of DWI and also try to suspend your driver’s license for either refusing a breath/blood test or taking a breath/blood test and testing over the legal limit.
A first arrest for DWI is a class B misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 180 days in jail and up to a $2,000 fine. A second arrest for DWI, with a prior final conviction for DWI, is a class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to a $4,000 fine. A third arrest for DWI, with 2 prior final convictions for DWI, is a 3rd Degree Felony that is punishable from 2-10 years in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine.
A DWI can have a lasting impact on your life, both financially and emotionally. If you or someone you know has been arrested for DWI, it is important for you to hire the best DWI lawyer possible to defend the DWI case. The DWI lawyer you hire can be the difference in you being convicted of DWI and having your case dismissed. Call our Houston DWI lawyers now at 713-222-0400 to discuss your situation.