Lawyer for Driving Under the Influence in Houston TX
Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Texas is similar, yet different than Driving While Intoxication (DWI). Unlike Driving While Intoxicated , Driving Under the Influence is a criminal charge that is only applicable to those that are under 21 years of age. The DUI statute is contained in the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code and states: “A minor commits an offense if the minor operates a motor vehicle or water craft in a public place while having any detectable amount of alcohol in the minor’s system.” A minor is defined as someone under the age of 21 years.
While DWI requires the government to prove the citizen accused had lost the normal use of mental or physical faculties, DUI only requires the government to prove that a minor has consumed alcohol prior to driving.
When a minor is charged with DUI, there is also the potential for a driver’s license suspension. The Department of Public Safety will suspend the minor’s driver’s license automatically unless a hearing is requested within the first 15 days from the arrest or citation. In order to prevent this automatic driver’s license suspension, it is necessary to fax or call DPS and request a hearing.
We have successfully represented many minors charged with DUI. If you or someone you know has been arrested or charged with DUI, please give our lawyers a call to discuss the case at 713-222-0400.