Act Now! You Only Have 15 Days to Save Your License.

Call Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C. immediately after your arrest. Our skilled attorneys will help you navigate your case and take the appropriate steps. 

Sam Shepard Arrested and Charged with DWI, Not First Drunk Driving Charge

Actor, playwright, and Pulitzer Prize winner Sam Shepard was arrested and charged with aggravated driving and DWI on Wednesday, May 27, 2015 in Santa Fe. The following reviews the details of the arrest:

Sam Shepard Arrested

The 71-year-old man, who’s famous for his role in Black Hawk Down, as well as his numerous short stories and plays, was arrested by Santa Fe police after a restaurant security officer filed a complaint about a potential drunk driver. The security officer called police after Shepard was seen trying to leave the restaurant in his pickup truck; the truck’s emergency brake was on, preventing the vehicle from moving. Shepard had been drinking prior to entering the vehicle.

Shepard Released on Bail

According to officers, Shepard appeared intoxicated at the time of arrest—his eyes were bloodshot, and the smell of alcohol on his breath was clear. Shepard told officers that he had only had two drinks—both tequila-based—and was planning on driving home. Shepard failed a field sobriety test, but declined to take a breathalyzer test. Officers arrested Shepard on charges of aggravated driving, and he was then taken to a Santa Fe jail.

After posting bail, Shepard was released.

Not Shepard’s First Offense

This wasn’t Shepard’s first driving offense, nor his first involving alcohol.

In January of 2009, Shepard was arrested in an Illinois town for drunk driving and speeding. After that arrest, he was convicted of the crime, fined $600, sentenced to 100 hours of community service, order to attend an alcohol treatment program, and was placed under 24 months’ worth of supervision.

Charges for a Secondary DWI

Being charged with one DWI is serious enough, but being charged with two can significantly alter the course of your life. In Texas, the charges for a second DWI include an automatic license suspension of 60 days and up to two years, a fine of up to $4,000, jail time ranging anywhere from one month to one year, an annual license surcharge of $2,000 for three years, the possibility of an interlock ignition device, and community service.

What should I do if facing secondary DWI penalties in Texas?

If you’re facing secondary DWI penalties in Texas, you need to read our page about adult DUI/DWI penalties¬†found here.¬†Then, you need to call our offices as soon as possible to schedule your free case consultation. At Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., we’re committed to representing you! Reach out to us today to learn how we can help you build a defense starting now.

Award-Winning

Representation
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2013
  • Best DUI Lawyer
  • Board Certified
  • NACDL
  • Lawyer Scientist
  • Avvo 10.0
  • Houston's Top Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers

Free Case Review

Get In Touch with an Attorney Today
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.