DWI with a CDL Over 90 Years of Combined Experience On Your Side

Houston CDL DWI Lawyers

Representing CDL Drivers in Harris, Fort Bend, Brazoria & Montgomery Counties

If you were charged with DWI while driving a commercial truck, you could be in danger of losing your Texas commercial driver’s license (CDL). The experienced Houston CDL DWI defense attorneys at Johnson, Johnson, & Baer, P.C. can help. If you drive a semi-truck, 18-wheeler, tractor trailer, or another commercial vehicle for a living, we are ready to fight to protect your driving privileges and secure your job.

Contact us online or call (713) 422-2270 to request your free initial consultation with our team.

Legal Alcohol Limit for CDL Drivers in Texas

DWI with CDL in Texas - CDL License Suspension

The legal limit for intoxication while driving a commercial vehicle is well below the .08 blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers with a standard license. If your BAC is .04 or higher while you’re operating a commercial vehicle on a Texas road, you are over the legal limit and could face DWI charges in addition to having your CDL revoked.

The 0.04 BAC limit for commercial drivers in Texas puts female CDL holders at a particular disadvantage due to physiological differences that prevent women from processing alcohol as quickly as men. A 140-pound woman who drinks a single light beer before getting behind the wheel may test at a .26 or higher BAC, making a second drink (or even half a drink) a risky prospect.

While men and larger individuals may need to drink a bit more heavily to reach this limit, it is possible to have a BAC of .04 or higher and not feel intoxicated or even buzzed, especially if you’re a regular drinker. Because of this, many people face CDL suspension even when they viewed themselves as safe to drive.

We Can Dispute Your CDL Suspension

If you’re pulled over by an officer who has probable cause to suspect you’ve been drinking, your mere presence on a public road provides implied consent for the officer to administer an alcohol test.

Refusing to take such a test will result in an automatic CDL suspension, as will consenting to the test and revealing a BAC higher than .04. If you’re charged with DWI, you’ll face an automatic suspension of your CDL for a maximum of one year.

However, commercial driver’s license suspension after a DWI arrest isn’t set in stone — you’ll have several opportunities to plead your case and attempt to renew your driving privileges. Our CDL DWI attorneys for CDL holders in Houston are well versed in the CDL suspension process in Texas and can help present a strong defense on your behalf. Our goal is to help you maintain your livelihood after being arrested for DWI.

How We Can Get Your CDL Back

After your DWI arrest, you’ll be afforded the opportunity to request review of your CDL suspension through the administrative license review, or ALR dispute process. By requesting a hearing, you’ll be able to present your case to an administrative law judge and argue why you should be permitted to keep your CDL.

The time frame for your request for a hearing is a quick one — you have only 15 days following your arrest to request a hearing date. Missing this deadline will waive your ability to appeal the suspension. If the suspension is upheld at this hearing, you also have the right to appeal and must file a notice of your intent to appeal within 30 days of the adverse decision.

If you’re planning to pursue this option, it is usually a good idea to consult with an experienced attorney first. The administrative process can be complex and having a good Houston CDL DWI defense lawyer on your side can often mean the difference between keeping or losing your CDL or even winning or losing your underlying criminal case.

Occupational CDLs in Texas

While drivers of passenger vehicles who are charged with DWI are often able to obtain occupational licenses to travel to and from work or school even with a suspended license (albeit with some significant restrictions), there is no equivalent for CDLs. Once your CDL is suspended for DWI, you’ll be restricted from driving commercial vehicles until one year has passed from your initial arrest, even if you’re able to obtain a hardship license to drive a passenger vehicle in the meantime.

To discuss your DWI case with our team at Johnson, Johnson & Baer P.C., give us a call at (713) 422-2270.

Cases Won for Our Clients

Our skilled attorneys have gotten over 1000 DWI cases dismissed and obtained over 100 Not Guilty Verdicts.
Put an accomplished team on your side.
  • DWI Motion to Revoke Probation Dismissed
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • Assault Not Guilty
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • Offense Result Facts Felony DWI Blood Test Dismissed
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • DWI with Child Passenger – .18 Blood Test Reduced to Misdemeanor DWI
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • DWI Not Guilty
  • Best DUI Lawyer
  • Avvo Clients' Choice Award 2013
  • Board Certified
  • Lawyer Scientist
  • Houston's Top Lawyers
  • Avvo 10.0
  • Super Lawyers

Experience Matters

Why Choose Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C.?
  • Focused On Clients' Well-Being

    At our firm, you are not just another case. We truly care and aim to make each client feel like they are our only client.

  • Team-Oriented Approach

    When you work with Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C., you get the benefit of a team approach made up of four skilled attorneys with over 90 years of combined experience.

  • Convenient Service

    Our attorneys are available day or night for your needs. Most matters can be handled over the phone to ensure case efficiency.

Free Case Review

We Are Available 24/7/365
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.