Driving while intoxicated (DWI) accusations are serious criminal charges that can result in severe penalties. However, did you know that DWI charges have varying degrees of severity based on the circumstances of the arrest?
If someone has prior DWI charges on their record, has an excessive blood alcohol content, or accidentally injures someone as a result of their intoxication, then DWI charges may increase. In this blog post, we will examine how DWI charges increase when the accused has a minor in the car.
Typical DWI Penalties
In Texas, a first-time DWI charge is a class B misdemeanor with a minimum of 72 hours of confinement.
Under Texas law, a class B misdemeanor could result in the following penalties:
- Up to 180 days of imprisonment;
- A fine of up to $2,000.
Therefore, someone charged with a vanilla DWI charge could face up to half a year of imprisonment and a fine close to a couple grand. However, penalties for those charged with driving while intoxicated with a child passenger are much more severe.
Child Passenger DWI Penalties
A first-time DWI charge is much more severe for those who accused of driving while intoxicated with a child passenger. A driving while intoxicated with a child passenger charge is a state jail felony.
A state jail felony could result in the following penalties:
- Minimum 180 days up to 2 years in jail;
- A fine of up to $10,000.
As you can see, the minimum prison penalty of a state jail felony is the same as the maximum prison penalty of a class B misdemeanor. Therefore, DWI penalties can get worse given the circumstances of the arrest. However, Johnson, Johnson & Baer can help anyone fighting DWI penalties regardless of the circumstances.
Need Criminal Defense for Your Case?
If you or a loved one need criminal defense for your DWI case, our firm can help. Our award-winning representation could fight by your side at every step of the way.
Call (713) 422-2270 now for a free consultation for your case.