Underage DUI Lawyers Johnson, Johnson, & Baer
Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) and Driving Under the Influence (DUI) are different in the State of Texas. Only citizens under the age of 21 can receive a DUI, while anyone can be charged with a DWI. If you know or have a minor charged with DUI in Houston, Texas call Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C. at (713) 222-0400 or email us to schedule a free consultation.
Underage DWI is Called DUI in Texas
The laws for someone under 21 years of age are much more restrictive and severe than the laws for adults. Texas has a zero-tolerance policy regarding drinking and driving by minors.
Under Texas law a minor that has “any detectable amount of alcohol in his/her system” while operating a motor vehicle is Driving Under the Influence and can be charged with DUI.
Driving Under the Influence is considered a Class C offense, punishable by a fine not to exceed $500. However, because a DUI is considered an alcohol related offense, there are often costly other expenses associated with a conviction (i.e. increased insurance rates, cancellation by your insurance carrier, driver’s license suspensions, etc.). Additionally, if there is a subsequent charge for DUI and a subsequent conviction, you may be subjected to a lengthy jail sentence and/or additionally fines and court costs.
Just like a DWI, the Texas Department of Public Safety can and will attempt to suspend your driver’s license if you are charged with a DUI. You have only 15 days from the date of your DUI charge to request a hearing to save your driver’s license. If you do not request this hearing, the Department of Public Safety will suspend your Texas Driver’s License for at least 60 days. Contact the lawyers at Johnson, Johnson & Baer, P.C. immediately to save your license and defend you against DUI charges.
DUI Lawyer Cost
Several factors influence the cost of a DUI lawyer including case complexity, the attorney’s fee structure, and the experience of the firm. Many lawyers specializing in DUI and criminal defense offer a free consultation to give you a better picture of what your particular case will cost and how the firm would proceed with either seeking a plea or fighting the charge.
In general, the average cost of a DUI lawyer in Texas may be anywhere from $1,000 to $5,000 for a case that settles without a trial and upwards of $10,000 for a DUI trial. Please see our DUI cost analysis for more information about additional fees and DUI lawyer costs.
Contact a Juvenile DUI Lawyer in Houston, Free Consultations
It is important that your DUI case be handled by a competent and experienced lawyer familiar with the laws related to underage drunk driving charges and the juvenile court system. If your case is not handled appropriately, there can be serious and lasting consequences. However, if the case is handled by an experienced DUI lawyer, it is very possible that your DUI case can ultimately be expunged (removed) from your permanent record. Call the DUI defense lawyers at Johnson, Johnson & Baer Law Firm.